About Neitsitorn

Maiden Tower  is a café-museum  in a unique medieval tower

*breath-taking views of the old town

Neitsitorn, vaade

* legendary café serving a historical menu

Rüütlikorrusel

Cafe on the 3rd,  The Knight´s Floor and 4th Floor, the Maiden`s Floor ( below)

_Z3I3176

* exhibitions to see and excursions to order

* In the summer season, direct access to the neighboring KIEK IN DE KÖK cannontower and the famous BASTION TUNNELS

Niels Anker Lundi ajalooline maal kuningas Waldemar II Võitja ristikäigust tulevase Tallinna alla 1219 suvel

Historical painting by Niels Anker Lund ajalooline “King Waldemar II on crusade to future town Tallinn ( Reval) summer 1219

In front of the MAIDEN TOWER ((Neitsitorn in Estonian) the story of the city of Tallinn began in the summer of 1219.

Valdemar II Võitja

Valdemar II  with Dannebrog

This is where the legend of the oldest national flag in Europe – the DANNEBROG – originates.

Engaged  in the fierce and glorious battles to defend the city (1577) the tower later was turn into apartment house,  the home for important people and an studio for artists.

In 1970s the tower was restored and a popular café was opened in the building.

Neitsitorni kohvik 1980ndatel

Maiden Tower cafe in the 1980s

Make sure to taste the dish which tells the story behind the name of the Maiden Tower at the café.

Vähilakad lillkapsaga

Crayfish with Cauliflower

The top level of the café in the Maiden Tower offers gorgeous views of the town  and can be used for events and seminars.

Neitsikorrus konv.

The auditorium on the ground floor is also a great place for organising events.

002 v